Thursday, April 29, 2010

CB&M Presents The Journey of B.o.B

The music industry has changed forever because of the internet. With the conversion of mixtapes from street to blog based distribution, a wider audience than ever has access to the work of emerging hip-hop artists like Bobby Ray Simmons. Over the last three years I've watched the ATL native grow from an enthusiastic upstart with boundless talent into a more mature musician, lyricist, and social commentator. His official debute album (even if its a debute in name only) boasts a list of features as diverse and well respected as one would expect from a well established industry titan like Hova. However unlike some of the weaker songs on Blueprint 3 or any song on Rebirth, these genre crossing collaborations all resulted in coherent, organic, and innovative songs. This mixtape is my attempt to place this album in the larger context of Bobby Ray Simmons growth from B.o.B to Bobby Ray and back. Track list and zshare link below.


1. Airplanes part 2 (feat. Eminem and Hayley Williams)
2. Autotune
3. Magic (feat. Rivers Cuomo)
4. Bet I Bust (feat. T.I. and Playboy Tre)
5. Can I Fly
6. Change Gonna Come (feat. Asher Roth and Charles Hamilton)
7. Could 9
8. Don't Let Me Fall
9. Fame
10. Generation Lost
11. Haterz Everywhere (feat. Rick Ross, Big Kuntry and Juvie)
12. I Am the Man (feat. OJ Da Juiceman and Bun B)
13. I Sing My Song
14. I'll Be In the Sky
15. I'm Dat N!**@ (feat. T.I.)
16. Left Field Lovely
17. Letters From Vietnam
18. Little Rascals
19. Lonely People
20. Middle of the Day
21. Not Love
22. Nothing on You (remix feat. Big Boi)
23. On Top of the World (feat. T.I. and Ludacris)
24. One (feat. Big Kuntry and Mac Boney)
25. One Day
26. Past My Shades (feat. Lupe Fiasco)
27. Put Me On
28. Sing My Song
29. The Biz
30. The Kids (Feat. Janelle Monae)
31. Use Ur Love

Friday, April 23, 2010

Not Lost

With his debute album already due shortly, tracks off B.o.B Present: The Adventures of Bobby Ray have been leaking daily. Out of respect for Bobby Ray I'm not going to post all the leaked tracks and I encourage you all to get the album when it comes out. However, the Grand Hussel Wunderkind noticed the positive response to early leaks, and decided that he wasn't going to let anyone steal his thunder. To make sure no one beat him to the punch, he personally leaked Airplanes Part 2, featuring an insane verse from Eminem, via a link on his twitter. Then, this afternoon, shake leaked a cut which will not be on the album. It's a shame this won't make the release. Those who follow B.o.B closely know he has an affinity for flipping Coldplay samples, in this case he uses an interpolation of Lost. This is likely also the reason the track won't be commercially released. (I'm speculating they couldn't get the rights cleared by Coldplay's label). Official release or not, any T.I. and B.o.B collaboration is worth a listen. I'm guessing this will quickly be in heavy rotation in my car.